An astronaut braves a pioneering solo mission into deep space, leaving behind her loving husband. Through disjointed communications, she discovers her life on Earth has changed forever. 'The Jump' is a short sci-fi drama on the elasticity of time, love and loss.

The film was produced for the NASA short film competition CineSpace, where filmmakers are asked to make a short film, of 10 mins or less duration, that contains at least 10% footage from the NASA Archives, using actual NASA imagery within the film. We used a broad selection of NASA archive footage mixed with new material shot by the production team.

The film is featured on FRAME LIGHT TV (FLTV), a short film channel and video-on-demand service that exclusively hosts global short films and animations; a unique platform for independent film artists to screen their work with pride, and also a curated space through which film lovers can actively discover new and exciting short films.


Awards / Nominations

Best Short Sci-fi - New Forest Film Festival 2018, UK

Finalist - Lacie PushPlay Competition 2018, Online

Nominated for best VFX - Berlin Scifi Fest 2018, Germany

Semi-Finalist - AltFF Alternative Film Festival 2018, USA


Screenings / Official Selection:

Jim Thorpe Indie Film Festival 2018, USA

Sci-Fi London Film Festival 2018, UK

Leiden International Short Film Experience 2018, Netherlands

New Forest Film Festival 2018, UK

Fear No Film Festival 2018, USA

Lacie PushPlay Competition 2018, Online

Emerging Filmmakers Night 2018, UK

Court Métrange Film Festival 2018, France

Screen25 Short Film Programming, 2018, UK

Muestra Internacional de Cine Astronómico 2018, La Palma Spain

Astronomy On Tap Leiden 2018, Netherlands

Berlin Scifi Fest 2018, Germany

Dumbo Film Festival 2018, USA

Bloodstained Indie Film Festival 2018, Japan

AltFF Alternative Film Festival 2018, USA

Lift-Off Sessions December 2018, Online

Boston Science Fiction Film Festival 2019, USA



Roseanna Frascona

Philip Arditti

Raad Rawi



Director: Andy Sowerby

Writers: Uriel Emil / Rachael Halliwell

Director Of Photography: Jan Vrhovnik

Sound Recordists: Matthew Faulkner / Grégoire Mariault

Production Designer: Chris Brake

Hair and Makeup: Kelly Harrington / Saima Malik

Sound Designer & Composer: Gonçalo Abrantes

Colourist: Marty Mcmullan, Rushes Post Production